Beginner help

Golden, CO(Zone 5b)

Hooray, my seeds are starting to germinate. Amaranthus is up about an inch, and coleus black dragon starting to peek through. I've never tried this before. I have them in the domed seed flats. At what point to I take them out to prevent damping off?

I found a store that carried Thompson and Morgan and bought Salpiglossis Chocolate Royale ($$$$$$$ for 10 seeds!)
It talks about starting it on top of moist soil, covered with plastic, in the dark. Would this be a candidate for the method some of you talk about in paper towels?

I'm nagging at DH to get me fluorescent lights rigged up, but haven't won that round yet. (He keeps mumbling something about overloaded circuits, ancient house wiring and fire insurance) Apparently he doesn't realize how important these are!

Decatur, GA(Zone 7a)

This sounds like a great opportunity to get your house up to code! It will eliminate the risk of fires, cut down on your fire insurance, and make all of you sleep better at night. Fluorescent lighting adds such a small load to your energy requirements that, if it puts such a burden on your safety, you ought to get that checked out and fixed really fast!

BTW, I'm an electric utility consultant, so I do know of what I'm speaking.

Golden, CO(Zone 5b)

Lol, pins, yeah, we know it's overloaded, however it will cost a small fortune to fix, since we not only need to rewire the entire house, which was built in 1915, but we desperately need additional service to the property. There are two homes running off one meter. We have a friend who is an electrician and when we asked him about costs, he said we'd need a second mortgage, or win the lottery!

Decatur, GA(Zone 7a)

Yikes! That is a lot! Nevermind... ;-)

Lenexa, KS(Zone 6a)

Terre--