FEELING NAIVE HERE, BUT NEED TO KNOW!!! (hee hee)

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I have seen many posts on this site about "cross breeding" seeds. I really do not understand this. I have seen posts where people have soaked two different types of seeds together (i.e. daylilies). So when you soak them together you get a "cross" between the two, hopefully?????? I am completely new to this and would LOVE some input from some of you that know what this is all about and how! :)

Marysville, WA(Zone 7a)

perhaps 'cross-pollination' would be a better phrase? Same as with any 'breeding' or hybridizing, pollen from a doner plant is placed on the host plant and if successful will produce seed with some of the attributes of each plant. Bees do it all the time.

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I guess I don't understand how this happens by soaking two different types of daylilies (or brugs, or whatever) in water. Does it make ALL of those seeds different if soaked together?

Like: If I soaked a white daylily seed with a red, would I probably get "pink" flowers?????

I'd really like to get a orangish red hawaiian looking one, and I have the seeds to do this, if that is possible. :)

Helsinki, Finland(Zone 4b)

By soaking them together... not possible. If you take pollen from a yellow daylily to a red one and it would make seeds and you would grow them, you could get orange flowered lilies, but it is a long and hard process so you'd better just get yourself a ready plant ;)

Spokane, WA(Zone 5b)

I guess that is why I have absolutely no idea why these people have mixed their seeds in water! How can they even tell which is which and where to plant? Maybe I'm just a label fanatic!

Lima, OH(Zone 5a)

You don't mix seeds! You take the pollen from a bloom and rub pollen on anthers of another bloom. This makes seeds then you have something to grow a plant.

Have you never heard of "the birds and the bees"???

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

the seeds have already been crossed before they are soaked.