zinnia

Mableton, GA(Zone 7b)

how do you collect zinnia seed and when?

Tucson, AZ(Zone 9b)

What I do is when the flower begins to "fade" I cut them and let them dry in the sun. When they dry I pull the large petals and clip the seeds at the bottom. I then put them in a small PAPER BAG (I get them at my local hardware store) mark the bag with the color and size and year.

Forest Park & Lavoni, GA

thanks for the help. I got these seeds at the SE Gardenshow. I am a novice gardener & I really would like to have them again next year.

Mableton, GA(Zone 7b)

Hey Pat!

LittleShima, Pat is my MIL. She posted the question on my computer, but now she's a subscriber herself! Yay!

Kerhonkson, NY(Zone 5a)

I tried to save zinnia seeds last year and I think what I have is an envelope full of chaff/dried petals! Can anyone describe or better yet share a picture of zinnia seeds?

Greer, SC(Zone 7b)

Here are some Zinnia seeds. The photo shows he seeds at the end of the petal and also what they lok like after removing the dried petal. They look like little arrow heads to me.

Thumbnail by s_neubaum
Kerhonkson, NY(Zone 5a)

Thank you! That's very helpful -- I think I have some seeds amongst the petals! Will try to germinate them next year ...

Randolph, MA(Zone 5a)

I came on this site just for these questions - I saw the pics, but on my dried flowers I came up with everything else but the little arrow - is it supposed to be hard or flat - because they're all flat and I can just blow them away, that's how lightweight they are- they look the same as the pics above except for the pointy. HELP - do I have the right stuff.

Mableton, GA(Zone 7b)