Sweet autumn Clematis

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

I have been nursing two climbing roses on a trellis for a few years now. They grow and bloom okay... but they've never really thrived there and I'm getting tired of babying them along. I want a tough plant that will grow and cover the trellis. The soil is not the best. It's clay and dries out terrible in the summer. I'm sure that's why the roses have not done well. Will a sweet autumn clematis do okay there?

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

Once you get them acclimated, they will grow anyplace. I never water mine and it still thrives. It gets mostly morning to about 2 PM sun and blooms it's head off. I cut it back to about six inches every year and it just goes crazy. They sure smell good when they bloom, too.

Lima, OH(Zone 5a)

Have had mine for 4 yrs. It grew up into the spouting, so I moved it to the back with a trellis, it took over that and makes so much shade, I trim it back all summer, it still is full of blooms in August. Sure should grow well for you. Do you want a start?

Ewing, KY(Zone 6a)

Poppysue mine is in hard clay soil and full or rocks its at the end of my driveway gets all the afternoon sun and I hardly ever water that bed it has to be tough to survive the neglect.Be glad to get you some if you want it.

Panhandle, FL(Zone 8a)

Have had one for years that I ignored. It grew inspite of me and blooms like crazy, I love it. Have to hold it back or it will smother my crepe myrtles and althea. Want cuttings?

Westbrook, ME(Zone 5a)

Okay. Y'all talked me into it. Actually, I think next spring would be a better time tp plant for me. The roses are blooming now so I might as well leave them until they finish. I think the clematis would do better planted in spring. I'll hit someone up for a piece then.

Panhandle, FL(Zone 8a)

Sounds good, I think mine stays green year round.

North Vancouver, BC(Zone 8a)

poppysue......you might want to get a whip and a chair!!!! E. this is one tenacious vine!

Western, PA(Zone 6a)