Newbie seed saving hybrid question

Bedford (DFW), TX(Zone 8a)

Hello All,
How do you know if you can save seeds from veggies (or anything else for that matter) and have seeds that are identical to their parent? If the plants proper name or label doesn't include the word "hybrid" is it safe? I'm growing some heirloom tomatoes and I know they'll be fine...but am wondering about varieties such as Burpee's Big Mama, Stakeless, and Viva Italia. I would greatly appreciate hearing from the DG experts ;)

Albany, MO(Zone 5a)

Well, I'm no expert, but I believe if the seed is hybrid it must be labeled as such. If you've discarded the seed packet, go to the website and check it out. Hope this helps.

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

I used to believe you were right MossRose. But I notice the past few years that more and more plant containers do not identify hybrids. So maybe the rules have changed?

Usually, if nothing else, the catalog listing for seeds does differentiate hybrids from OPs.

Plain City, OH(Zone 5b)

It seems to me that it doesn't make any difference whether a plant is a hybrid or not - if there is another plant like it anywhere around the bees will probably cross polinate it. The only way to be SURE of the growing a new 'exact' plant would be to grow a cutting of the original.

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

There are many factors involved in pollination, and whether or not plants need to be isolated by distance, caging, bagging, or other means.

By and large, only varieties of the same species will naturally cross. Thus, if you are growing two cucumbers (Cumumis sativus) there is a good chance of them crossing if grown too close together. However, if you also grow muskmelon, (Cucumis melo), they won't cross with the cukes, even those the genus is the same.