Morning Glory and Moon Flower

Bremerton, WA(Zone 8b)

I have just started several of these climbers this Spring. I planted them in an open area to grow over a trellis and give shade to the bench under it. I chose them because they grow fast. The rest of the area around them is grass...I just put small beds beside the trellis.

I've been reading in here and see that many people do not like them. Also that they become invasive and will take over. If I train them to climb the trellis and keep the vines off the ground...will I still end up with them everywhere? Any ideas on how to keep them contained to just this area...is it possible? I'm fighting Oxialis right now...the ground cover type...sure don't want another pest to have to worry about later.

I love them, but this is my first time growing them. After reading some of the comments, I'm tempted to pull them all up before they get any bigger.

Thank you for the input...WaWild1

Newark, OH(Zone 5a)

the problem with MG's is that they seed rapidly and the seeds tend to fall all over the place so they'll come up in unexpected places :)
I do love them too though and grow them every year. I just pull the seedlings out where I don't want them

Mysore, India(Zone 10a)

I'm doing the same, Susan. But it is worth the trouble because those MGs are gorgeous! It is not difficult to pull the little seedlings out that is why it does not make me sick of that job. Also, the rainwater carries the fallen seeds to unusual places!

Albany (again), NY(Zone 5b)

sbarr < --- MG grower- even to the point of hosting two co-ops for them and ordering some from Japan. I grow them in fairly controlled areas - residential yard. They do self-sow (within a small area), but they easily can be pulled up. Here's the irony - mine probably don't self-sow much because I'm busy collecting the seeds so that I can trade them.