Borers

Lake Elsinore, CA(Zone 9a)

I am new to dealing with fruit trees. The house I bought has several. I noticed that the nectarine tree in the back has some sort of gall looking mess at the base. I poked a wire in the area and found oozing. This is a small but a good producing tree. Do you think I have a borer? I surely don't want to put pesticides on a fruit tree (I don't have any pesticides around but dipel, and safer soap like stuff). Can Anyone tell me what I can do? I would love to save this tree.

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

If it's a foot or less from the base it could very easily be a peachtree borer. You did good, poking in there with a wire. I'd ram that in there and try to kill anything in that hole. If you don't see any sawdust-looking stuff come out of there in the next week then you probably killed it. The larvae will be in the ground around the base of the tree, so you should lightly cultivate that area and try to bring them to the surface, so birds and such can eat 'em! If they are still in their cocoons then pick them up and get rid of them. (They look brownish in color.)

rural, WY(Zone 3a)

Looks like we have our first resident expert!

Efland, NC(Zone 7a)

HALT! Do NOT pass GO! (But if you do, please let me collect the monopoly money!)

I was first introduced to peach tree borers when I bought one of my first peach trees, Dennis. The borer CAME with the tree! Fortunately for me, I hadn't even planted it yet. When I found out what it was and, most importantly, found out the borers in our area weren't out-and-about yet, I took it back where I purchased it and had knowledgeable ammo to use. (They called the company and they sent me another tree a few days later! Yay!!)

So much for your "expert", eh? (I'm just happily doodling along in life on this planet, checking things out, thass all!)

rural, WY(Zone 3a)