Bay Laurel

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

I have some cuttings in water...what do I need to do to them to root? I am new to this progating stuff. They won't root in water, will they? That would be too easy.
Melva

Ahh they may not do too well from cuttings taken at this time of year. The best time to take the cuttings is summer when the shoots are semi-ripe (semi-hardwood cuttings). However, I'd still put them in potting soil (some dip them in rooting hormone at this stage) and keep them on a windowsill until they've rooted. I can't say how deep to put them in as you've not indicated the size of the cuttings.

Rooting cuttings in soil is just as easy as water, if you want to see the roots form, use a clear plastic pot (you can make them out of clear yoghurt pots etc). Rooting by this method also ensures that the plant forms the right roots, leave cuttings too long in water and they will be adapted to living in that environment and struggle more when they are potted up.

Denton, TX(Zone 7a)

Thanks,
The person that gave them to me, says if these don't work..he'll give me more. Do I take most of the leaves off, like I do with rose cuttings? I would guess they are about 12 inches. I will put them in soil. I have some sterile potting soil that is really for starting seeds, it is real fine, would that work?
Thanks for the advice.
Melva

Without seeing how the cuttings are taken I'm having to assume that they have the tips intact where the new leaves and stem grow from.

Don't take off all the leaves, leave the top two and take the rest off. If they've been in water, cut the bottom couple of inches of the cuttings at a slight angle, dip in rooting powder or gel if you want to use it and then make a hole in the compost about 2 inches deep and place the cutting inside the hole firming them in gently. If you're using rooting powder and you push the cuttings in, you will wipe off all the powder/gel. Water so the soil is just moist and keep on a windowsill or similar.