seed potato

Hempstead, TX(Zone 8b)

i am doing something different this yr and making a potato big bin made out of fencing and filling it with leaves and hay and fill it as they grow. the seed potato i picked up are large should i cut them or can i just plant them whole in the bin. i am fairly new at this i have been cutting them up and planting them in the ground every yr but thought i would get better production out of the dirt. what do ya'll think?

Benton, KY(Zone 7a)

My experience with seed potatoes is limited to when I was a kid,but Dad always cut his.He planted them on the farm in rows,but I think I'd still cut them for the type of planting you describe.Just make sure you have at least one 'eye' on each piece.

Anybody else out there have another opinion?

hickory, NC(Zone 7a)

i always make sure i have 2 "eyes" per tator lol but that is just me.and i do cut them.you get more that way and saves money i think maybe someone else can help too?????

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

The recommendation is to use them whole if they are small, but cut them if large, leaving at least two eyes. Cut pieces should be at least 1 1/2 inches.

Murfreesboro, TN(Zone 7a)

farmgirl, how big is your bin? I'm asking because you may not need too many taters to fill up a decent-sized bin :)

I didn't cut mine last year because I didn't need to. If you cut them be sure to let the cut ends heal over for a few days before you plant.

A lot of sources say to chit them, too - which basically means to expose them to light and warmth so they begin to green up and sprout before you plant them.

Hempstead, TX(Zone 8b)

great advice :) thank you everyone. the bin is still in my mind lol. but i was thinking 12'x4' at least. i will spread out the potatoes tomorrow and cut as needed that will give them time to heal until dh can build the bin this weekend.

Lewisville, MN(Zone 4a)