Help with plant identification

I was rummaging around in the basement of my old barn when I found what looks like a whole bunch of strawberry plants growing right in the soil floor!

I wonder if they really are strawberries. If they are, I'm going to transplant them somewhere a little more hospitable.

Anyway, I took a picture in case anyone would like to look at it and tell me if it is indeed strawberry:

http://whitinger.net/mystery_sb.jpg

And, also, just for fun, here is a picture of my barn:

http://whitinger.net/mybarn.jpg

You can see that it is going to fall down any moment now. I think the trees are the only thing keeping it up. :)

Dave

Moorestown, NJ(Zone 7b)

Hi Dave!

Well, first off, the disclaimer: I'm no expert, but it looks like it might be an ornamental strawberry.

It's kind of hard to tell from the picture. The ornamentals tend to have "runners" and are a bit sturdier than regular strawberries, so I assume that would be what that plant is, since most strawberries would be dead at this time of year. (unless your barn is extremely warm (which from the picture, looks doubtful!) LOL!

Either way, they're both valuable plants (to the right person!)......you could probably trade the ornamentals if you didn't want them. Many people like them as they're pretty ground covers.

Thanks for the info. I'll leave them where they are and watch them this spring and see what they do.

Bay City, MI(Zone 6a)

the barn wood looks good still-im thinking fences for climbing vines-and all kinds of craft stuff! ;]

Oh yeah, the wood is all in great condition! I'm going to be emptying out the barn and tearing it down sometime this year, and I'll be keeping the wood for all kinds of uses.

As a matter of fact, just this morning I'm planning to go down and pull some of those 12x1x12's out of the basement of the barn to use as cold frames!!

Dave

Saint Louis, MO(Zone 5b)