artichoke

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

I got two artichoke plants last year for ten cents each, they were pretty pathetic looking. But look at them now....and, I did manage to get one artichoke each from these plants.

Thumbnail by pebble

Nice healthy looking plant pebble.

Peter.

Baker City, OR(Zone 5b)

Yesterday I bought 2 artichoke plants. They were in gallon pots so they are sizeable plants already. One of them had a smaller plant next to the big one so I really got 3. This is my first try to raise them, does anybody have any growing tips? How many buds will I get if they do well? Do all the buds form pretty much at once, or will I get an extended harvest if I keep them picked (and eaten!) as they form?

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

Mary, Last year I got one artichoke from each plant, but I got mine in 4" pots, your plant is probably already a couple of years old, and you should get more.

Baker City, OR(Zone 5b)

Artichokes are biannuals I understand, and I've read that you can fool the plant into thinking it is older than it is. I want to start some seeds in the fall, let them grow about 6 weeks, "winter" them in the referigerator and wake them up the following spring. The plant is then supposed to "think" that it is on it's 2nd summer and start making buds. They wouldn't survive the winter here even with a good mulch. Cool idea, huh?

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

hmmm I don't see why it wouldnt work...give it a try and let us know in about 6-8 months?

Baker City, OR(Zone 5b)

Update. My plants have buds! One plant has just one bud so far but the other one has several, the bud in the center is about 3 inches in diameter and there are several small ones beside and below it. Oh boy, it won't be long until we get to eat!

Bodrum, Turkey(Zone 10a)

THE ONES YOU STARTED FROM SEED????

Seward, AK(Zone 3b)