great tomato for colder climates

Mesick, MI(Zone 5a)

hello i am new to dave's garden but not new to tomatoes i live in northern michigan where we have mabye three months of summer so we have to make every day count
i have been growing stokes ultra sweet for some time it is a 62 day determinate tomato that does really well it is a hybrid so no saving seed it sets well in cool weather it has nice 8 oz round fruits with no green shoulders nice for market gardeners great for canning ir you have a cold climate and short summers try this one

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

Trouble is, Birdlady, that because it works so well for you they'll likely discontinue it. And then where will you be?

That's the way it always works for me, anyway. Soon as I find something I like, they take it off the market.

Which is one reason that I love heirlooms so much. When I find one I like, I know I can have it forever.

This message was edited Tuesday, May 7th 10:01 AM

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

PS:

Welcome to Dave's. Your gonna like it here.

Chariton, IA(Zone 5b)

So, are there any heirloom varities that would fit into the northern Michigan 3 month time frame and do well? I'm even concerned that my summer isn't going to be long enough for the heirlooms. Our nights start cooling down in September very quickly. I'm giving the heirlooms a try this year though. I'm so hungry for a good tomato and not one of those rocks from the grocery store.

Richmond, KY(Zone 6b)

I promised Birdlady I would research some heirloom varieties appropriate to her season. A cursory check of some of my references provides quite a few. Among them:

Short Season (55-65 days)

Matina; Sophie’s Choice; Stupice (said to be one of the earliest); Aufbinder; Beefcake; Bloody Butcher; Highlander.

Mid-Season (65-80 days, with early midseason marked [e])

Amish Paste; Anna Russian [e]; Black From Tula; Box Car Willie; Cherokee Purple; Dr. Carolyn [e]; Arkansas Traveler [e]; Alma [e];