Thoughts from a Newby

Winston Salem, NC(Zone 7a)

WOW!!! What a great site and what a great group of caring people you all are!! Signed on two weeks ago and I am still learning how to navigate my way around. In my wanderings (both mental and mouse)through the threads I have already had my investment in subscription repaid ten-fold by the wealth of knowledge that is out there as well as the joy of finding such a diverse group of gardeners. In answer to one thread - How to get more folks to subscribe - I think somehow emphasizing to new members like myself on the homepage or Welcome Mat (yes I wiped my feet) how little the cost is compared to the money saved by the wealth of information, tips, and guidance provided by your site. (In the first ten minutes I paid for the subscription in money saved by a thread on grow lights.) As for the ease and friendliness of the site, I do have two questions...Would someone clue me in on some of the abrieviations - DH,DD,DW etc (Darling,Devious, Devoted, Dumbfounded,Designated significant other, Husband,Huckster,Daughter,Wife, Whinner, Winner ) ? But my real big question is how do you find the time to both garden and do so much here? My wife is already giggling(does that mean I am Gaggling?) that I spend so much time here that I won't get all my seeds started in time!!!! Any who and how, glad to be here and will end this long diatribe and save more thoughts for later.

Cape May Court House, NJ(Zone 7a)

Hi Tim and welcome to DG! I was clueless on the abrieviations too! Sis started this thread a while ago and I saved it just to help me out! Now it can help you too!!!http://davesgarden.com/showthread/76907.html

Oh yea part of the fun here is trying to get your daily housework or yardwork whatever it might be done! We are all addicted so I guess you just fit in the with the rest DG addicts!!!!!!!
sue

This message was edited Sunday, Jan 27th 2:07 PM