Help saving a Yucca!

Swindon, United Kingdom

Hi all,

I'm a novice gardener and I'm also trying to keep some houseplants. Most of the houseplants are going well, but my yucca I'm afraid is on the way out. I'm not sure if they are really suited to being indoors, but I don't suppose someone could please diagnose what I've done wrong and how to save it (if possible) from the photo?

Swindon, United Kingdom

Heres a photo of the poor plant!

Thumbnail by Jamiejays
Castro Valley, CA

It does look so sad! Hard to tell without seeing the soil, the pot and the underside of the leaves,

But I would say it desperately needs water or it has root rot.

Yuccas can take dry conditions but not no water. Stick your finger down as far as you can in the soil. Is it totally dry? Lift the pot up, is it very light or heavy with water? If totally dry, water it. The watering needs to be thorough too. I water till it comes out of the bottom holes in the pot (I hope yours is in a pot with holes.) I leave that water for an hour to see if the soil needs more and if it will suck it up. After that, I empty the saucer as I do not leave any plant to sit in water promoting root rot.

On the other hand the leaves can droop due to lack of water from over watering too. Too much water from over watering before the soil has a chance to dry out or soil that retains too much water, or if the pot is left sitting in water, causes the roots to rot.

If the roots are damaged or rotted from this, they cannot drink any more water in to hydrate the leaves. So the bottom of the plant has too much water but the top part cannot get the water it needs from the roots. So the leaves wilt. Feel the trunk starting at the very base. Is it soft or does it have a spongy feel to it? If so the rot is advanced and there is no hope.

Assuming the plant is not terminal -