Herb Plant Stems

Orange, TX(Zone 9b)

I'm new to growing herbs. I'm outdoor container gardening. I have several plants that have grown tall yet laid over instead of standing up. I have staked them and they have continued to grow...but they continue to just lay over and some of them have just snapped off. It appears that the stems are not thick and strong. Why is this? I water regularly and I don't water too heavily. I'm using a high quality soil mixture. I have used B1 Thrive Alive. I have added compost to the soil to give nutrients to the plants. I don't know what I'm doing wrong. Also, so many of my plants' leaves are turning yellow or brown. What am I doing wrong? I make sure they have the appropriate required mix of sun and shade.
Thank You

Hadley, PA(Zone 5a)

What type of herbs are they?

Magnolia, TX(Zone 9a)

Sages and Basils die in the Fall. You harvest and dry them and store them.
Oregano, rosemary, thymes, mints, onion chives, parsley, cilantro, dills, leaf celery, fennel, onions, garlic, grow best in our Fall/Winter season and will be starting up now. They will probably die in late July or Aug tho. My oregano is year round.
Parsley is a 2 yr plant, then dies. You did not indicate what herbs you grow, lavendar is touch and go in our heat and humidity. Yellow can be a sign of both too much and too little water. Our sun affects and tells plants what it is time for them to do- low sun and short daylength hours are telling many herbs to slow down. Also with cooler days watering should slow down. Containers especially can hold more water than you think. The dirt in my raised beds is still too hot for some herbs to sprout, but others like the cuke I planted Aug 22nd is producing fruit now- at least til frost.
So, what herbs are you growing?

Thumbnail by kittriana Thumbnail by kittriana Thumbnail by kittriana Thumbnail by kittriana
Magnolia, TX(Zone 9a)