Starting elephant ears from tubers in the greenhouse

Oxdrift, Canada

It's been 5 weeks today since I started 48 elephant ear tubers in my greenhouse. I finally have one tiny leaf. I have been doing this on an annual basis for many years. I keep records of when I start things but unfortunately I don't keep records like how long before the first leaf shows. I know it has always been a slow process but I guess I forgot it was this slow. Once that first leaf shows they usually go great guns. It is still over a month before I can put them out here so I am probably fine. Has anyone been doing this who can offer any suggestions on tips to speed up this process?

Thumbnail by oxdriftgardener
Algonquin, IL(Zone 5a)

Wow that's dedication!
I've never planted Elephant Ears, but you now have a record of how long it took. By looking on your "My Info" page under the threads you've started, you can find this one that tells you the date.

Some people also use their DG Journals.

Oxdrift, Canada

Good to hear from you Nuts. I have been reading some of your comments on the DG UPDATES forum but I don't have enough history to get involved in THOSE discussions. Too much negativeness. I prefer to discuss growing stuff.
Keith

Algonquin, IL(Zone 5a)

Believe me, you're much better off. Growing stuff and love of nature is why most of us joined in the first place.

Although I sometimes comment in those threads, I came to the conclusion a long time ago that no matter how upbeat I try to be I won't change the minds of those that want to be negative.

Stick with your garden. From the pics I've seen it's beautiful!

This message was edited May 3, 2016 10:15 PM

Oxdrift, Canada

It's amazing what a difference a week of serious heat can make. Like I said, they go great guns once they start but it takes a lot of patience to get to this point. Today is 6 weeks

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)