Just started my seeds. Please help

Berea, KY

Ok....I am a newbie.... I have my seeds planted waiting for germination... I decided to try the Christmas lights in non clumping kitty litter...in a tub....
It's warm and getting lots of condensation inside the plastic lids... This is good....right?

Do I open the lid daily to check and make sure the soil is good and moist?

How often should I water them?

Can I use my digital meat thermometer to test soil temps?

I know once they start to sprout up...I need to remove those from the bottom heat and put them on the shelf under top lights....

At what point do I need to remove them from the little cups of seed starting mix....and transplant them into some other kind of soil?
What kind of soil should I transplant them in?

I didn't have any thing to stick in the cups to write in lol...so I used colored straws etc to mark each plant and I have a list with all my info written down....

Next time I plan to think ahead and get something better 😃

Info and tips are greatly appreciated for this newbie!

Thumbnail by Grammykaye Thumbnail by Grammykaye Thumbnail by Grammykaye
Florissant, MO

Hi Grammykaye. I see you’re quite new to Dave’s Garden so I’ll start by saying welcome! You’ll find many friendly folks here who are always willing to help anyway they can.

Question: Is it good that the soil mix is warm and that there is lots of condensation inside the plastic lids?
Answer: It depends on what kind of seeds you’re trying to germinate, but for most seeds you want the soil mix to be about 75 degrees. As for the condensation, you want to see a slight amount of moisture on the inside of the lids, but if you see water droplets that run down the sides, the germinating medium is probably too wet. If that happens, remove the lid for awhile.

Question: Do I open the lid daily to check and make sure the soil is good and moist?