End of the off-season

Springfield, OR(Zone 8a)

Yeah, baseball too, of course. But I feel as if I/we have been hibernating, and I miss you all. What's anybody doing right now, plant-growing-wise?

This is my first year, at least in the last 18 and I can't remember any further back than that, my first go at starting my own tomatoes from seed. I have ten varieties and I am wing-flapping excited. Better than that measly four of last year.

For my birthday my DSO and I designed and built two kinds do seedling heat trays, and they're working. Yay!

I think I could live on tomatoes and pecans, cherries and green peas. Forever. Period.

So, anybody???

Turtle

South Lake Tahoe, CA(Zone 6a)

Hey turtle.... been busy here in the Tahoe Sierra's with more snow. Another 10" and freezing temps. Have 2 greenhouses with starter plants from last year doing well, along with lots of plants outdoors covered in snow. Bulbs are planted in individual containers to establish their root systems with bulb booster.

Our growing season is so short. Greenhouses help to extend the season a bit.
Have lots of seeds to plant, but germination unfortunately will be much later this Spring.

SeaTac, WA(Zone 8a)

Oh tomatoes from seed! I tried last year but ended up getting starts from a friend.. but I want to try again maybe next year!

I have a Japanese exchange student who will be living with me for the next year so this last weekend I had her come to the nursery with me and pick out what she wanted to grow while she was here, so we planted a goumi tree (elaeagnus multiflora) which she said she loves to eat in Japan, as well as two varieties of table grapes (I can't remember what they were off the top of my head at the moment though)..