Rose buds in February?

Manhattan Beach, CA(Zone 10b)

I'm new to gardening so please excuse this question if it's stupid.

I had my mom's roses pruned at the end of January. The gardener did what I would call a medium pruning. There were only one or two leaves left after he finished.

Now all of the roses are full of new leaves with new rose buds that look like they will open in the next few weeks.

After the pruning I put Ortho Advanced on each of the roses. Did I do this too soon and will these early buds mean I won't have roses later this year?

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Welcome to another wacko So. Calif. "winter" !
I pruned mine right after Xmas, and like yours, they've all completely leafed out and have loads of buds on them...about 5 weeks early.
Unless the roses you have are "once a year bloomers" it won't affect successive bloom cycles.

You didn't mention what types of roses you have...are they Hybrid Teas, Floribunda's, Grandifloras, etc ??? Most of those bloom in 6 to 8 week cycles or "flushes".

(Pegi) Norwalk, CA(Zone 10b)

I pruned the few I have in Jan. and they have all leafed out too. Don't know what mine are, but they are pretty. LOL I do have a peace rose that was given to me and I really love that one. I can't keep names of any plants in my mind so I just go for what I like.

JasperDale, I'm looking forward to my 3rd year of sweet peas on that old fence I got from you. It really came in handy.

Long Beach, CA(Zone 10a)

Great ! You should go on our garden tour in May.
I'll start a new thread about it once our website is up and running.

I've been cutting off all the buds on my roses because I don't want them blooming now and be in-between bloom cycles for our tour.

(Pegi) Norwalk, CA(Zone 10b)