would appreciate an ID on this one

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

partner went to an auction and came home with a truckload of pots and plants.
this was the most interesting of the lot. it had outgrown its pot and was full of weeds. it was also in a pot with no drain hole. thankfully, whoever had it, knew not to over water. the "soil" was rock hard and dry. this is the before picture. since i took the picture, it's been re-potted, weeded and cleaned up. it had apparently just flowered so i doubt i'll be getting any flowers until next year.

it was a real fight to get it out of the pot; hopefully i did no permanent damage. time will tell.

Thumbnail by trackinsand Thumbnail by trackinsand
mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

this was id'ed on the id forum as being Parodia leninghausii.
any thoughts on this id?
after looking at PF pictures, it certainly seems to be the one.

Baja California, Mexico(Zone 11)

Certainly looks like it to me, but I'm no expert. Nice old plant. If you had to break some roots during repotting, keep the soil dry for a week or two to be on the safe side. The plant seems like a real survivor to me.

Do we get to see the "after" picture? :)

mid central, FL(Zone 9a)

lol, absolutely!
here it is in a wider pot without an indented rim...so much easier to slide out when the need arises. i didn't put a lot of soil in the pot. that's why it may look like it's sitting down inside. figured it didn't need a ton of soil right now. in a year or so, or when it starts producing a good root system again, i'll lift it and put more soil in.
i have it on the front porch under the overhang. it gets sun but no rain.
i would normally put this in a clay pot but it will be getting hauled around if we have a freeze this winter and this is so much more "back friendly".

Thumbnail by trackinsand
Decatur, GA

Beautiful plant. I have one of the same. The spines are soft to the touch, right?