Moving from Illinois

Port Orange, FL(Zone 9b)

I am moving in the near future to Port Orange and I have all sorts of questions!!??
Here, I have cottage gardens, butterfly bushes, coneflower, phlox, bee balm wild indigo, butterfly weed, coral bells, peonies, HOSTA and many others. From the posts, it sounds as if you are planting now. I was recently down ther for a vist and we stopped to get mulch for my MIL and I asked him what types of flowers grew well in FL and he said just about anything but when it gets too hot they just die off! Say it isn't so!!!!
If you could let me know when your perennial garden season is and also tomato season.
Any information would be appreciated.

Fleming Island, FL(Zone 9a)

I'm not an expert - have been here 1 year. Moved down fm MD.
Won't find Hostas doing well down here. Thye may be fine for a season but really too humid for them to be happy. So you can replace them with Elephant Ears!!!!

The butterfly weed loves it down here & you will find a slew of other butterfly loving plants. Melaniw & wren can really give lots of that good info.

The perennial season can last almost all year with plants coming & going as the weather changes. During a mild winter, many plants that freeze off up north, will come back here in "winter". With a bit of protection (save those large packing boxes to put over plants on the COLD nites) even my turks cap hibiscus bloomed all winter.

Lilies, Gladiolis, dahlia, caladiums all do very well. There are varieties of Roses that love the heat & humidity & will bloom almost year round.