Best tool to remove weeds with long taproots

West Babylon, NY(Zone 7a)

I have a shady garden under shrubs, and its infested with parsley like weeds that get 4 feet high! If I mow or weed whack they grow back from the root, and there are too many to pull or use weed killer.

I need a tool that can pull them easily out from the root, I'm tall so to save my back from bending I need a long handle. What can I buy online?

Saint Louis, MO(Zone 6a)

Do you know what the weed is? Can you post a picture?
I'm a veteran of clearing a woodland of invasive weeds, but I can't picture what you're describing.
Many years ago, I had a hand-made tool for pulling dandelion taproots which was basically a standard hand-weeder strapped to a pole with a step-plate which allowed for easy removal of tap-rooted dandelions from the lawn.
But I've never seen a commercial product like it.
Hopefully others have better suggestions.

This http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-y-W5V9sgdpQ/T8-GRiiE0KI/AAAAAAAAEC0/sWI0-9XxgG8/s1600/weeds+002.JPG

This message was edited May 6, 2013 11:21 PM

I never go out weeding without my garden knife. The blade (not quite as sharp as a kitchen knife) is about 8" long and I use it to dig stubborn weeds out of my clay soil.

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Keith -- I'd love to know the name of that weed. I think I have some of it -- mine is variegated in spots, but otherwise looks much like your photo.

Quote from happy_macomb :
Keith -- I'd love to know the name of that weed. I think I have some of it -- mine is variegated in spots, but otherwise looks much like your photo.

Is it variegated or sunburn, they tend to burn in spots. It's called Mugwort.

Chevy Chase, MD(Zone 7a)

Thanks, Keith. On mine, the basal leaves are a bit variegated, as I recall, but not later growth. Not sunburn. I'll compare it to Mugwort -- thanks for the information!

Sierra Foothills, CA(Zone 8a)