Made a Greenhouse out of an old 'Garage Tent' Frame

Spokane Valley, WA(Zone 6b)

Hi everyone,
I wanted to share an idea my husband came up with for building a greenhouse out of mostly reused materials. We had the framework from an old Costco tent (the fabric had blown away in a ferocious wind storm the previous winter.) We stacked landscaping blocks in a U shaped pattern large enough to place the tent posts into. Then we filled the inside of the stacked area with some gravel for drainage, then soil. To make the frame strong, we supported it with 'hat-track' and then attached clear corrugated poly sheets to the outside. We had an old window and an old door from a remodel project and added them. Voila! It is a three season greenhouse because we have temperatures below freezing in the winter here. I am just beginning to learn how to use it, and look forward to both my mistakes and my successes. (I usually learn more from my mistakes than what I do right)
Great gardening to all of you.

Thumbnail by kathiesgarden Thumbnail by kathiesgarden Thumbnail by kathiesgarden Thumbnail by kathiesgarden
Fabens, TX(Zone 8a)

Very nice, wish you much luck with it. The little one reminded me of my 2 yr. old grandson upside down sunglasses. Have fun.

Thanks TX. The little girl is my granddaughter and garden 'assistant'. I take care of her during the day while her mother works. She is a real delight

Monte Vista, CO(Zone 4a)

Your greenhouse turned out beautiful! I really like the curved bed. Does it extend into the greenhouse on both sides? Looks like it might. And you have your own walking track around it. :) You'll do well, I predict, this season.

Hi Solace,