Trouble with new plants

Seattle, WA

Please help. By now I have basic gardening experience, but a different house. Things have not been going well. Not a single rhodie has bloomed in the almost five years since I planted them. Not enough sun (one of them sits next to an established one that blooms its head off!), planted too deep (how deep is too deep?), soil prep not adequate, lack of fertilizer???? I also created a new little Japanese garden a couple of years ago, and placed a few specimen plants in there before barking. I was basically trying to get rid of an old pile of rocks, stump, and weeds such as the very persistent mahonia (I know, not really a weed), blackberry, and buttercup.The only thing not threatening to die is the low-growing bamboo thing that I dug up elsewhere on the property. It hadn't been spreading due to the poor soil, but now it's happy. Should I be scared? This stuff is a variegated pale green and white, and only about 10"-12" tall. The real failures are the nandina, which hasn't grown even an inch, and the mugo pine, which gets browner by the day. Yes, I HAD dug all the bad stuff out, to the best of my ability, but the bindweed still loves it there, as does the mahonia. There is adequate sun, I believe, and water. Even the little native fern is being reluctant, but still lives.

Union, WA(Zone 8b)

I wouldn't fertilize but I would mulch everything with a good brand of compost. 3-4 inches deep just not up against the plants. If you can get dead leaves or grass clipping add that and dig it in around the plants. Or you could put everything back into pots until next spring after all that mulching has begun to help out.

This message was edited Jul 13, 2012 1:17 PM

Rose Lodge, OR(Zone 8b)

Can you post pix of the situations?

Seattle, WA