SEBASTIAN THE CRAB

Kalama, WA(Zone 8b)

I've been growing SEBASTIAN THE CRAB for 3 years now, but have never seen it bloom. I bought it from a local garden where it was doing very well, so I know it will grow in my climate. I paid more than I'll usually pay for a daylily because I wanted it so bad. I'm cheap. LOL
To my disappointment, I watched it go from 2 fans to 1 in a year. This spring it was turning yellow and wasn't growing so I did some investigating and discovered it had pulled it's self down too deep. I pulled it back up, but it continued to just sit there and yellow until finally the crown just fell off. All that was left were healthy looking roots and the bump where the crown used to be. I lost it. And until the price for it goes down, I wouldn't be replacing it. Instead of throwing it out as I'd done with other plants at this stage. I decided I'd try to rescue it if I could, though I really didn't think anything would work to bring it back. I wasn't ready to except it was lost so I was going to try anyway. I soaked the whole thing in a mild bleach bath for a few hours. Then I let it air dry and potted it up in new clean soil. The next week I gave it some alfalfa tea. This was about a month ago. The other day I looked down and noticed 2 new small crowns starting to form on it. Oh Happy Day! I remember reading somewhere once, that if you lose the crown, the plant is toast. Obviously, that's not the case. I'll no longer throw out any of my plants that fade away to just roots and a bump. As long as the roots are healthy, it can be saved.

First photo is from Tinkers

Second photo is SEBASTIAN THE CRAB today.

Thumbnail by Joy Thumbnail by Joy
La Plata, MD(Zone 7a)

Keep after it, Joy. It really is a nice plant and bloom in our yard. I admire your persistence with it.

Hazel Crest, IL(Zone 5a)

Joy, I am happy for you. Glad you decided not to give up !

Kalama, WA(Zone 8b)