Foxgloves?

Warrenton, VA

I admit. I LOVE 'EM. Does anyone have experience growing these? I've always steered away from growing "Biennials" as they seem to be disappointing in general (lots of work and waiting for little bloom), but I just WANT to see these nodding away in my garden...I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

Oh Gracye- This is my first year of blooming Foxgloves, the big fat popular ones. They were amazing.
Last fall or spring, I got seedlings from Gita. They are nice rosette things of fuzzy leaves, remind you of lambs ear but not THAT fuzzy, about half, but fairly large leaves, Each plant filled about , oh, more than a square foot. This spring they shot up with spikes of five feet to over six feet tall, just loaded with blooms. This is in a shady place with some late pm sun.
Ah, but now the basal leaves look horrible as they yellow and dry up, and the spikes need to stay and finish ripening as I plan to let them self sow. If you did not want them to self sow you could have pulled the whole plant a week or two ago and put something new in there for summer, annuals?

Warrenton, VA

sallyg - the picture you paint makes me even MORE desirous than ever! They take my breath, and so did your comment! thank you so much.

Silver Spring, MD(Zone 7a)

Gracye, I wintersowed them this year and have plenty of little foxgloves. If you come to the fall swap this year, I'll have some yellow and white ones to give away, and they'll bloom for you next spring!

And they seem to love my wet clay soil! The leaves stayed evergreen all winter, too.

Enjoy
RATS! Not rotated!!

This message was edited May 31, 2012 8:56 PM

Thumbnail by sallyg
central, NJ(Zone 6b)

and if you plant them 2 years in a row you'll have them every year

Lucketts, VA(Zone 7a)