Need advice on St Augustine lawns in Florida

Palm Bay, FL(Zone 9b)

I bought my house in January and the lawn has been neglected for some time. There's dead patches, gotta be drought damage because it's been real dry and it took me awhile to learn how to diagnose and repair the sprinkler system. There's dollar weeds and a bunch of other common weeds that are starting to die off due to the heat building.

The sprinklers are fixed to the best of my ability, and I hired a guy to come cut and edge what's left of the dehydrated lawn today. I have no experience taking care of a lawn, so the only thing I can think of to help the lawn recover is start fertilizing and watering regularly, continuing to pull out weeds and junk and hope for the best.

I guess I'm wondering what might be the best product I should purchase to put on the lawn to encourage it to grow ASAP. I've heard it's getting late in the season to do a weed-n-feed like Scott's Bonus-S, and should probably just do a regular fertilizer?

Clermont, FL(Zone 9a)

All I know about St. Augustine is it takes a LOT of water.

Good luck

Bonnie

Taylor Creek, FL(Zone 10a)

Try Scott's weed and feed. Give your lawn some time to see where it rebounds.
Sidney

Allthingsplants, FL(Zone 8b)

Get rid of the grass & go Xeriscape. This is Florida & you will constantly be fighting to get grass to look good & can go crazy trying to make & keep it looking great no matter the variety. And don't even get me started on the money you pour into sod in Florida. Fungus, water, water, water, mow, chinch bugs, weeds, poison, snails & slugs & on & on & on. Then the armadillos will say, "Oh YUM! There's bugs in that nice juicy lawn & we're going to go dig holes allllllll over it & eat the bugs". Meanwhile you wake to find what looks like 100 grenades went off in your lawn & if you don't get right out there & "fix" all the holes then the grass roots are exposed to the sun & die.