ornamental grass in shade?

(Zone 4b)

I have no experience with ornamental grasses but I have been doing lots of investigating during the 'off season' looking for grasses which 'like' shade.

All of these look wonderful and have been described as (quite?) shade tolerant:

Hakonechloa macra 'Fubuki'
Hakonechloa macra ‘All Gold’
Carex 'Ice Dance'
Chasmanthium ‘River Mist’

But now I need your experience. Have you had success with any of these grasses in a 'shady' location?

This message was edited Feb 11, 2012 6:57 PM

'Ice Dance' is a real toughie in the shade. It will spread by underground runners but is pretty tolerant of dry shade once established. Just give it some space.
I have Hak 'Aureola' which I is my favorite so far. Easy to divide (once established) for more plants as well which is a plus in my book. I've even had some growing in a pot for the past 3 years. I also have 'All Gold' which has a different form than 'Aureola'. In my garden, it's taking a little bit longer to get established but I do really like it as well. The "haks" do very well in brightening up the shade.
Have had just the species Chasmanthium and it self-sows like crazy. I have apologized on occasion with sharing this plant with other gardeners. It has a tough root system and even the tiny self-sown plants are a pain to pull out. But I do like the dangly seed heads so I do keep some plants around.

Elgin, IL(Zone 5a)

I have the 4 of species chasmanthium too. Interestingly, it didn't start seeding for about 5 years, and then the baby plants started popping up. To be honest, they picked such good locations that I left many of them, and have just transplanted clumps to my new yard.

One man's trash...

Some examples of the uninvited...

Thumbnail by DonnaMack Thumbnail by DonnaMack Thumbnail by DonnaMack

I like your term - "the uninvited".

Saint Louis, MO(Zone 6a)

Here are a few of my shade-tolerant grasses.
The first is hakonechloa All Gold. For me, it's more vigorous than Aureola.