developing a new strain of crop - food plants

Tahlequah, OK

Okra is probably the very best beginner food crop there is! It is hardy, drought -heat & tolerant, disease resistant, insects have little effect on it, and it is highly prized by your neighbors, if you have enough to share! I am a Certified Organic Farmer who has spent the last seven years, developing a new strain of crop - food plants. Okra is kind of my specialty. I plant about 1,500 seeds per year. I grow it fresh for a local health food store, the Farmers' Market, and deliver about 50 to 100 pounds per week to a local grocery store.

When planting okra, it is best to soak the seeds over-night. The next morning, lay out a row and plant your soaked seeds about every 9" to 12" inches. OSU says "Never plant a seed deeper than 3 times the diameter of the seed", but to avoid birds digging mine up, I plant about 3/4" to 1" inch deep. Make the rows about 3' feet apart, so the leaves don't rub your arms while walking between the rows when they are bigger... Some people are allergic to the itchy spines! I say, "Just wear a long sleeve shirt and use gloves when cutting the pods". I plant mine about the 1st of May (it is very frost sensitive). Once the plants are established, keep them weeded. In about 2 months, the beautiful yellow blooms will greet you at 7:00am every morning!

It only takes four days for the 3" to 4" inch okra pods to form after blooming, so be ready! They are best if picked when 3" or 4" inches long, and are great for frying, pickling, making soups, gumbo, or for boiling. We even salt & pepper them raw, right after slicing, while still gooey, then dehydrate them, and eat like popcorn. It's a great healthy snack when watching a movie.