Just finished my first rock garden (minus the plants!)

CREZIERES, France(Zone 8a)

Hi all,
I live on a limestone hilltop in central-western France. Have been wanting to have a rock garden for many years and have finally managed to have the time and energy to make one.
I studied a lot of book and online advice, including Todd Boland's very useful article on the subject.
So here is the story so far... Doubtless I have made a lot of mistakes... and feel free to tell me about them.
Being 'hilltop' my garden while moderately large (~1600 sq yds) is fairly flat. The only slope potential is really adjacent to the courtyard where there is a small stone wall about 18" high holding back the 'higher' part of the garden from the courtyard.
So I dug out about four feet of the elevated section storing the topsoil and the large number of limestone rocks which had comprised the wall. (See picture)... (continued next post)

Thumbnail by cinemike

... This took me some time (a few weeks) as I became somewhat depressed at how slow the going was... My big DIY job over the summer was to replace the roof of a small outbuilding (can be seen in the background of the other pictures - not this one, that's the neighbour's house). That yielded large numbers of broken tiles, so I decided to economise on soil and rocks, by starting the inner part of the rockery with this rubble. So I filled the inner part with a triangular sectioned pile of the rubble about one foot high and three feet wide. Originally my intention was to make the whole structure 35ft long, but I ran out of energy after 20ft... but it is still quite sizable.
Here is the pic of the project the first evening when I had just started with the rubble..

This message was edited Nov 24, 2011 3:27 PM

Thumbnail by cinemike

The next day I was able to put the rest of the rubble in and admire my handiwork. I thought about the advice from Todd about holes where nasties such as slugs and ants could make their homes.