Commercial greenhouse behind-the-scenes

Watertown, WI(Zone 5a)

I'm new to this part of the Dave's Garden forum (though I've been part of the community for a few years), so...hello!

I thought I'd share a link to the blog entry I posted yesterday. It's a little photo tour of a large commercial greenhouse's behind-the-scenes production and springtime preparations. This greenhouse will sell tens of thousands of annuals, perennials, vegetables, herbs, shrubs and a few trees come early spring. It was interesting to see how they handle their plants quickly and efficiently (and roughly!)

http://petiolejunction.wordpress.com/2011/03/09/behind-the-scenes-garden-nursery/

Milton, MA(Zone 6a)

Very nice - I could almost smell the air.

St. Louis County, MO(Zone 5a)

Lovely, I've always wanted to move into a greenhouse in the winter.

Milwaukee, WI

hey thanks for the tutorial, Ive never been to Ebertys but the sell at the farmers market in West Allis and i buy from them every year with great success

Watertown, WI(Zone 5a)

Thanks, all! Carrie, yes--it smelled amazing in the greenhouses, especially the annual area where they were busy potting up the plugs. Most people as they walked in during the tour took a big breath, and a few said, "Oh, it smells like spring!"

Art, Ebert's is definitely worth a visit in the spring and perhaps in the fall if you like fall annuals. It's a huge operation (the photos don't do it justice) and very nicely laid out and landscaped. They have a very professional and friendly staff, too. I've never had a bad experience there. In fact, I'm always amazed just how good it is. And their plants always do very well for me, too.

I sound like a commercial. But I've been a customer for years. I'm always there on opening day if it's not raining...and sometimes even if it is. They even provide complimentary umbrellas while you're strolling the grounds. :)

Midlothian, VA