2011 COLEUS - ALL ABOARD!

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

We came from here!

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1042049/#new

Welcome aboard to the new 2011 COLEUS series!

Annabell, this is a Kong.. it was huge in the garden.. I love this plant, so rich in color and so easy to do cuttings or start seed!

Thumbnail by BLOSSOMBUDDY
Sundance, WY(Zone 3b)

I'm new to these, starting from seed, but did have a couple different coleus last year, and I'm not familiar with the Kong. Is it a shade variety or sun? It's very pretty! I like it! The leaves look like velvet!

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

It can go sun or shade, but I think it likes a partly sunny area better. Just depends on how intense your summer is.

Sundance, WY(Zone 3b)

Thanks! Guess I better get some seeds started, as I just happen to have a pkg of mixed, lol! Maybe I'll get lucky and Kong will be one of them!

Watseka, IL(Zone 5a)

I have not seen Kong seed yet.. but good luck and have fun if you find them! They are an awesome plant! Look for them in the nurseries and take cuttings later.

Cuttings are easy to do.. snip, dip and poke! That is snip a cutting, dip the stem in rooting hormones and then poke the cutting into a cell pak and water as needed

Edmonton, AB(Zone 3a)

I agree, they are easy. I have found that here where it stays cold forever we do well with seeds under lights.
I like the look of Kongs but found that if we get windy here they break easily as their leaves are sooooo big.
I will hunt for some of my seedling photo's from last year. I germinate on a heat mat that starts them well and then prick them out into deep root trainers that are the 72 per flat size. With some good air movement and lights I can get good plants growing and damping off is minimal.
These are very forgiving cheerful plants with lots of color.
Ann

(Daniel) Mount Orab, OH(Zone 6b)

Great plants everybody!