Starting in Carnivorous Plants

Bridger, MT

Hello! I've been gardening for many years and I have thousands of plants, but I've never been able to keep carnivorous plants alive for more than a few months. So I want to start fresh and learn how to grow them the right way. Information on how to grow them and such would be great. Can the Lowe's plants be trusted? I favorites are sundews and leah's child pitchers, but I love them all!

Thanks!
Devon

Arlington, TX

Check out cobra plants nursery website, they have good information. And welcome, these plants are so addictive and rewarding.
Some of Lowe's plants might not be in the best shape as they water them with tap water.
Cheryl

Akron, OH(Zone 5a)

I never seen any of these unusual plants in person but kept drooling all over the pics I saw online. They seem so out of this world and I was sure it was impossible for me to try to keep them alive... But my conditions are similar to those of Tommy's so maybe I'll give it a try this season. Any suggestions on beginner-proof species? I really like Sarracenia and Nepenthes. Besides I love to start seeds, would it be a good idea to try some easy ones? Will really appreciate any tips. I'm not an expert gardener but my hoyas, succulents and gesneriads do well for me.

Maria

Arlington, TX

Sarracenia purpurea (northern) are native to MI, as am I so they would likely survive your winters outside. There is also at least one sundew native to OH/MI and similar climates but I cannot remember the name. If you search this forum, Tommy and others explain how they overwinter some of their plants in the fridge. I grow 4 kinds of sarracenia, venus fly traps and a southern sundew outside year round in full sun. I also have a few nepanthes and tropical sundews that I keep indoors year round. I guess that means it depends on which plants you want to try.