Lowes Nepenthes has a short black root

(Ang) Bremerton, WA(Zone 8b)

I bought a Nepenthes at Lowes yesterday and opted to wait until morning to repot it. I did put it up out of reach of my cats and remove the little dome. I repotted this morning and it has a 1/2 (or less) inch black root. Although I am fairly new to carnivorous plants I am pretty sure that isn't good, I'm thinking root rot. I repotted it in a better medium but I suspect it's a lost cause. Is it possible it'll regrow new roots in a better medium? Or is it safe to say I bought a dieing or dead Nepenthes?

Also, I went through it's current medium which was moss and I cannot find any other roots. There is nothing resembling a root, of any color. I'm about to repot the Sundew now, I'm praying I don't lose it too.

I wish I could delete this post now. The Sundew was fine but I returned the Nepenthes. I bought three new plants that just came in a couple days ago - purple pitcher sarracenia, red pitcher sarracenia, and a second Sundew. I have them repotted but am now trying to figure out if I should put the pitchers outside or let them mellow indoors since it's November.

Tampa, FL(Zone 9b)

Your Nepenthes would have been fine. Most are easy to root. You may have had a cutting which may not have super well developed roots, but you are probably right if the medium was too wet, you may have had root root. Int hat case, you would just reroot it.

Let us know what Sundews you have, because it determines their care. :)

Tampa, FL(Zone 9b)

PS you were smart to repot the plants. Did you pot them in peat and perlite or peat and sand? Look at the package very carefulyl and make sure it doesn't have fertilizers added. For the Sarracenias and Sundews it should be just peat and perlite (or sand) No additives. For the Nepenthes, it can have peat, perlite, lava rock, orchid bark, . . . a more open mix.

No compost, miracle grow, garden soil, potting soil, . . . all will kill carnivorous plants.