What to do with bamboo

Webster, WI

Hi, My name is Kathy and I am totally new to tropical gardening. A year ago I purchased my little piece of paradise on Pine Island FL. It will be my winter home when I retire, and I will be able to get out of the cold WI winter!
My question is what can you do with bamboo to controll it. (or can you) When I first looked at this place in Feb. of 2008, I was so excited to see bamboo growing behind my shed. When you've lived your whole life in a cold climate anything tropical is so exciting!

But, 2 yrs later the bamboo has spread and gotten huge. It is growing and weaving into 4 strands of electrical wires. My neighbor is telling me I have to cut it before a wind storm comes and the bamboo knocks out everyones power. I know I have to do something but, after reading online, it sounds like it will just keep sprouting. (seems to be the running kind) Besides I really like it, it's so graceful and beautiful.
Anyone have any suggestions? I will be going there for 8 days in Jan. and really need to address this problem.

Attaching pic of what it looked like 2 yrs ago...

Thumbnail by nanaka
noonamah, Australia

There's two basic types of bamboo, the clumping tropicals and the running cooler climate ones. Any bamboo is difficult to get out without resorting to earthmoving equipment. But the running type can be a real nightmare. All mine are clumpers and have been planted well away from anywhere they could become a problem. But as far as the running type go, you can think you have all the runners out and then find some more coming up elsewhere. The new shoots break off easily so you need to do that until you can get the main part of the plant dug out. And it's better to do that sooner rather than later.

Pasig City, Philippines

HI tropicbreeze,