Growing garlic 2

Vashon, WA(Zone 8b)

Here's the link to the previous thread for anyone interested in reading through the plethora of information and wandering conversations there :)

http://davesgarden.com/community/forums/t/1051174/

I started thread number one about a year ago, and it is definitely planting time here in the Northwest. It is worth it to prepare the soil well by removing all weeds and with generous additions of compost since garlic is a long term crop, in the gropund for 9 months. Add lime too if your soil is acidic.

I am only doing a small planting this year since the soil borne allium fungus (White Rot)I have requires that I plant in a completely different location. Last June I only harvested 50 out of 250 plants. All the rest withered and died in May although they had been large, robust plants up until that point. I want to try and save an unusual variety (called 'Kenyan' by the person who gave it to me) that I have been growing for 10 years, and which is not available anywhere I can locate on the internet.

This message was edited Oct 23, 2010 7:15 PM

Dayton, WA

Hello Mauryhillfarm...a fellow Washington gardener I see! I have the white rot problem at my main organic garden also. I understand that solarization of my beds will kill the fungus, but I hesitate taking that much ground out of cultivation. Besides, I understand that solarization will kill the good life-forms as well. Like you, I've planted my garlic in a completely different location this Fall. I've heard from a couple of garlic schmexperts that soaking the cloves in a baking soda-water solution for 12 hours and then rinsing them with rubbing alcohol before planting will do the trick also. I have not tried that.

Vashon, WA(Zone 8b)