My coleus

Utica, NY(Zone 4b)

My coleus looks like it is changing colors,,,should it be?

Thumbnail by janemarierose
(Arlene) Southold, NY(Zone 7a)

It's just the difference between the old leaves fading and new leaves arriving. Have you taken cuttings for winter or do you avoid that constant chore?

Utica, NY(Zone 4b)

I'm a newbie,,,But yes I plan on doing that...or at try my hand at that

I even purchased those clay pebble...But i do not know what to do with them.....

jm

I've seen some posts by people who root cuttings in the pebbles but I've never used them.

Many of us bring in cuttings of our favorite coleus. Many don't make it to spring and generally over watering or rooms that are too cool (below 60) are the culprits. Mealy bugs are yet another problem.

Utica, NY(Zone 4b)

what should a room temp be for the cutting survive? I dont know what mealy bugs are ,,,if they die,,, why do you do the cuttings?

jm

Room temperature should be 60 and above.

Mealybugs look like white cottony patches and the tiny insect within will suck the sap from the plant and distort the plant. There's more information here:
http://plantsarethestrangestpeople.blogspot.com/2008/01/mealybugs-and-you.html

We do the cuttings and bring in established plants (that were likely just cuttings during the last year) in the hopes they'll make it to May when we can put them outside again.

Utica, NY(Zone 4b)

Oh I read somewhere to keep them at 50... to keep the growth at a slow rate.... I'm still trying to root phlox cutting with no results =(

JM

I've never tried to take phlox cuttings, sorry.

Jo Ann (ge1836) lost a lot of coleus during the winter and she blamed it on the room being too cold. They are tropical plants and want warmth.

Utica, NY(Zone 4b)

How do these bugs get into the house, is there a way to wash the plants in soapy water before bringing them in the house?

jm