Birch Troubles

Walterville, OR

Hello All,
Garden and tree newbie here. Last year, I noticed yellow leaves on our birch (I think it's a type of weeping birch). I thought it was because we lost a large tree that provided shade most of the day. I did a little research and found it can take sun, as long as it gets enough water. This year it gets enough water but still the yellow leaves. On closer inspection I find that the leaves look diseased or spotted. After much research, I am coming to the conclusion that the tree probably has leaf borers. I also found some green shield bugs on a leaf and thought they might be the borers but they look nothing like photos of the borer. I think they are some sort of stink bug. At this point, the tree doesn't look like it's in its last stages but it does appear to be suffering a bit. Can anyone offer advice on what I should do? Or is it too late and I need to wait until the fall or next spring to do something? I will post several photos to give you an idea. This first one is a close up of some leaves. I really don't want to lose this tree. Any help would be most appreciated!
Thanks,
Nadine

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR

Trunk photo #1.

This message was edited Jun 30, 2010 9:32 AM

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR

Trunk photo #2

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR

Photo including top of tree.

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR

Ravaged area...

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR

Two bugs...

Thumbnail by _Nadine
(Zone 7a)

The shield bugs wouldn't do that much damage. Not sure about what's going on with the rest of the tree. I see some holes that may be borers. Someone else will have to give better advice.

Walterville, OR

Second shot of same ravaged area where leaves seem to have died off...

Thumbnail by _Nadine
Walterville, OR