My pomegranate has die back of limbs..

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

Started a couple weeks ago, so far we have removed 6 large limbs that have just died. Does anyone have experience with this plant and know what might be going on??

Thumbnail by earthling
Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

The rest of the tree/bush looks nice and healthy with lots of flowers on it...but so did the other branches before they died..

Thumbnail by earthling
Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

There is a lot of new growth coming up from the base of the plant. Should I let them grow??? thin them out???

Thumbnail by earthling
East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

I think poms are happiest as multitrunk plants. just remove the dead stuff. You could try to grow as a standard, but the tradeoff is much less fruit. If left as multitrunk, then more fruit. Mine is just waking up.

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

so do you think this die back is normal??

East Texas, United States(Zone 8a)

I am no expert and my tree has only been in my garden for two seasons. Mine experience dieback also, not much as it is a little tree/shrub. I googled dieback and seems that it is characteristic of poms. I also read that pruning is very important. I think lots of people tend to overwater, so keep that is mind. If you're seeing new growth as well as dieback, I'd say you just need to do some branch cleanup.

I think poms are original from the middle east where there is lots of heat, so very good for our area. However, Rowlett is a little further north, so your tree may suffer a little bit more from cold weather. Just speculating here.

Rowlett, TX(Zone 8a)

Thanks..I also was wondering if the late snowfall we had might have something to do with it. This is a young tree/bush, only in the ground about 4-5 years and this is the first year it looks like it will produce a lot of fruit..last year I think there was 7 poms on it.