Nitrogen-fixing bacteria for Sweet Pea seeds?

Plainfield, NJ

One of my books says you should inoculate sweet pea seeds with nitrogen-fixing bacteria. I haven't been able to find this anywhere, either locally or on the internet. Does anyone know where to obtain nitrogen-fixing bacteria? I wonder, if I can't find it, how might my sweet pea seeds fare?? I'm new to seed-starting.
thanks in advance for any advice...

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)

perhaps you werebeing refered to mycorrhizal powders.. as a way of introducing bacteria which allows uptake of food.. such as nitrogen..
http://www.google.com/products?hl=en&q=mycorrhizal+fungi+products&oq=mycorrhizal&gs_rfai=&um=1&ie=UTF-8&ei=rdaiS6j9FsX7lwfa_aTxCA&sa=X&oi=product_result_group&ct=title&resnum=3&ved=0CB4QrQQwAg
there are100's of them

Franklin, WI(Zone 5a)

I think this might be used to speed germination also? I have had good luck just soaking my sweet pea seeds in water mixed with hydrogen peroxide. 12 tbs of peroxide to 1 gallon of distilled water.

Hope this helps!

Plainfield, NJ

thanks for your replies, folks. GordonHawk, I took a quick look at mycorrhizal powders and they apparently help the roots take in what they need. But this is for seed-starting - no roots yet.

Brooklyn, NY(Zone 7b)