Hmm hmm, bread racks and milk crates..

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

just sitting in the weeds next to a small store that went belly-up a few months ago. It seems that when the bread/ milk person no longer delivers he doesn't care to return for a few plastic racks. Now I would never steal from a store that reuses them (since I graduated from school LOL) but these are just forgotten.
OK so I did take a bread rack today. It looks like an awesome compost sifter. Holes in the bottom are about a half inch square.

Marshall, VA(Zone 7b)

A bread rack would also hold lots of little pots....

Yes it will be great in spring if I have a bunch of small pots to move out. I hope to! coleus cuttings and who knows what else by then.

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)

They are great for keeping your milk bottle winter sowings containers in so they don't blow around. It's a great thing to store lifted bulbs and tubers in over the winter. I have two bread racks and constantly find uses for them. They're great for putting all of your chemical bottles in so they don't get knocked over. Somehow I hear a YKYAG coming out of this...

Central, VA(Zone 7b)

Sally, I had to re-read your post. It gave me a chuckle. Were you in the habit of making off with plastic bread racks from grocery stores prior to your graduation from school? Pam

tee hee--my sister or brother somehow** acquired a milk crate, back before crates were made for the regular stores and sold as storage items! When you couldn't just go buy a crate, it seemed like an awesome and rare storage device for textbooks, stereo components, whatever ..Gosh that thing was sturdy.. You know at the college age when you want to be just a little rebellious so you borrow something ..kind of Stick It To The Man....or was that just me? Oh the thrill of actually hauling a dining hall chair out of the d h and taking it all the way to your room and nobody stops you?? Or so I am told....

Norristown, PA(Zone 6b)