Over-wintering Caladiums

Emmaus, PA(Zone 6b)

Hi. This was my first year growing caladiums and I just love them. I want to try to keep them over the winter to plant again next year. I dug them up on Sunday and they have been lying on some newspaper in my kitchen ever since. What is the procedure for storing the bulbs and then planting them outside next year? Do I clean them? With water or a dry brush? Where and how can I store them? We have a semi-furnished basement, but it has no windows and is usually around 55-60 degrees over the winter (we don't bother to heat it most of the time). Can anybody give me a clue? I've never tried over wintering plants before, but I just can't accept these beauties are annuals around here! Thanks!

--Steph

Anne Arundel,, MD(Zone 7b)

Hi, Steph,
Sorry its taking some time to get your answer. I am no pro but I did save some successfully last year.
Last year I had some in pots outside for the summer. In fall I just let the pots dry out and then brought them inside my basement. My basement varies from 60 to 75 degrees I guess. I think all you need to do is let them dry, and maybe put them in paper bags, or wrap in newspaper, and put them away. Mine regrew this year, and I recently pulled up the bulbs, wrapped them in paper and stuck them in a large plastic pot along with some other bulbs (peruvian "daffodils") and a zonal geranium.
Then in spring,to start them up, pot them in some moist soil and find a WARM spot to get them going. I have read they really don't get going unless they're warm, like top of refrig.
I hope if I'm wrong someone corrects me!

Baltimore, MD(Zone 7a)

irish--

Sally gave you good advice......Caladiums need to be in about 80*-85* to start growing from the corms.
If you wait to plant them outside in--say May--you will have a LONG wait before they sprout--like when the soil gets to be really, really warm.