What to do with bare roots

Buffalo, NY(Zone 5b)

In the next week I am expecting to receive some bare root phlox. The question is should I plant them now?
Should i put them in pots indoors under lights for the winter? Or should I just refrigerate them as is and either start in pots in spring, or plant outside in late spring? Any thoughts would be helpful!

Kenmore, NY(Zone 6a)

I'm no expert, but I've planted perennials in the fall, (we're neighbors!) and haven't ever had a problem with them coming back in spring. I WAS unsure about a bleeding heart, and the first year I took on of those plastic nursery pots and inverted it over the plant & anchored it.

Buffalo, NY(Zone 5b)

If it was 2 or 3 weeks ago I wouldn't think twice about planting them, but it will probably be almost November when i get them so I don't know if there will be enough time for them to acclimate before it really turns cold, though the way it's been this year we could have one of those rainy 60 degree christmas's!! I'm actually in Williamsville so am a little more removed from you depending on where in Kenmore you are! I used to live on Warren Ave several years ago!

Kenmore, NY(Zone 6a)

hopefully someone will come along with good advice, they usually do. I honestly don't know what I would do at that point.

I'm by the the Kenmore Pool, can't get a whole lot closer than that! My BIL lived on Warren for years.

I found a link for you on bare root perennials, maybe you can get an idea from here: http://nga-gardenshop.stores.yahoo.net/plantingbarerootperennials.html

Good luck, neighbor!

Altus, OK(Zone 7a)

smileymom343 - that was a good little article on planting bare root perennials.

Pittsford, NY(Zone 6a)

yes it was

Buffalo, NY(Zone 5b)

Thanks! That was very helpful

Kenmore, NY(Zone 6a)

Oh good! Glad I could help a fellow gardener.

Hannibal, NY(Zone 6a)

Hi jackthompson,

i have a nursery out near Oswego, NY, and you know if anyone gets more snow than Buffalo it's Oswego.