Areca vestiaria...sun????

Keaau, HI

Hi,
I am a newbie to tropical gardening....just moved to Keaau, Hi. from Vista, Ca. I spend most of my time over on the Salvia board....anyway, was wondering if anyone here knows how much sun Areca vestiaria 'Red Form' can handle.....water and temps should be no problem here. Many thanks in advance from a newbie.

Andy

noonamah, Australia

Better in shade and don't allow it dry out. I lost mine when the irrigation didn't work.

Oak Hill, FL(Zone 9b)

I've got an orange crownshaft, and it's doing great, heavily filtered light, keep soil moist, good drainage, lots of palm fertilizer, if it's small, use fish emulsion, or I use Maxicrop liquid fish, and Maxicrop liquid seaweed, Ed

Keaau, HI

Hi Andy, around here they need shade. What area do you live in?
In Hawaiian Paradise Park they will need some irrigation when they are young; upcountry not so much.
They love living in mulch, rather than a lawn.

Aloha, Dave

Thumbnail by Metrosideros
Keaau, HI

Aloha Dave,
I just got a place in HPP on 8th. I've got quite a few Ohias on the property that create some dappled shade....I may wait to plant these until I develop some canopy....got some work ahead of me taking out Tibouchina and making some workable soil!

Andy

Keaau, HI

It gets very hot and dry down there. You're on a 300 year old lava flow. The palm will certainly need some protection.

Keaau, HI

Aloha....

Thanks for your information.....going to have to do alot of homework before I make anymore plant purchases!

Acton, CA(Zone 8b)

Hope you are in an exceptional microclimate as that is not a palm that can normally survive more than a winter or two in California (even Vista).

noonamah, Australia