Fall and Winter questions for new Iris gardener

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

I am brand new to growing German Iris. I live in the St. Louis County suburb Olivette in MO (Zone 5B). This past spring I started my first bed. The grew well, bloomed well, and now we are quickly approaching the Fall Season. I read somewhere on someones blog that Iris should be fertilized twice a year...does that mean the Spring and the Fall? What would they like to be fed with and when should I do it? Also, should I be making a plan on how to Winterize them. It feels like their partially exposed bulbs would get cold this Winter without putting mulch over them or am I supposed to pull them up and store them for next years planting. I have never cared for these plants in this climate before so I really don't know what to do.

Thanks in advance
Susan :-)

South Hamilton, MA

The rhizomes are a food storage stem & will be fine if the roots don't get exposed. They are the tender parts. The main thing is to prevent heaving. Put a rock or a brick on top. Fertilize in the spring & after bloom.

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Thank you for helping. Can you explain what heaving is.
Susan

Gainesville, TX

you won't have a heaving problem. In really cold climates when it gets super cold the soil itself freezes and then it thaws on warm days and then it freezes again........Not in St Louis

Taylorsville, KY

Actually, your zone could experience heaving -- everyone can have the freeze-thaw-freeze cycle depending on the winter! For the first year, it is a good idea to put something on them, like a brick or stone as suggested, or cover them loosely, like with pine boughs. My siblings live just outside Chicago, and they had heaving with the iris I planted for them, and they are zone 4. It is always better to be safe than sorry when you are first starting! :)

Lakes of the Four Se, IN(Zone 5a)