Red clay soil

Azuero Penninsula, Panama

Help! I'm new to gardening on the Western Azuero Coast of Panama....and I'm dealing with a lot of red clay soil. I know of some native plants that'll do well, but wondering how to go about amending the soil for various other types. Our new lot doesn't have any trees, so I'm also faced with having to plant some "much needed" shade trees. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

noonamah, Australia

"Red clay soil"? I wish!

But the best clay breaker is gypsum, calcium sulphate. It's usually easy to get anywhere.

Thanks. I'll see what I can find in Santiago, our nearest supply center. Now I just need to know what the name is in spanish.....
I've included a picture of the soil this time. As you can see, we've got lots of planting to do.

Thumbnail by Panoramic
noonamah, Australia

I checked it and came up with the word "yeso". But apparently that's also used for the gypsum they use in building. Make sure you get the horticultural one.

That's quite a barren bit of dirt. Doesn't appear to be any top soil. What's the story for how it came to be like that?

Hillsborough , NC(Zone 7a)

Aloha Panoramic, and welcome!

I can see how you chose your name - that view from your land is gorgeous!

Jenn

Mérida, Yucatán, Mexico(Zone 11)

"Yeso Agricola" is the term you want, I did a search for suppliers in latin america and found several in Argentina, Peru and Mexico. I think what you need is to find an agricultural supply company, probably based in Panama City, and then look up their distributors. You will need a lot so you should be able to buy from a major distributor.

It looks like the land was scraped for construction. You may need to replenish top soil - and quickly before the rains go too long - or you might need to plant trees in prepared holes until they get started. Have weeds or other vegetation started growing on it? The rains have started there already, right?