How do I get rid of Yellow Jacket nest?

Mableton, GA(Zone 7a)

Hi! I graduated from Georgia Tech so I'm a Yellow Jacket fan, but when it comes to them in my flower beds, I have to draw the line.

When I was growing up, Mom would pour gas down the hole. Obviously I don't want to do that in my flower bed and right up against my house. Now, she has an armadillo on her property that happily digs them out and eats them every summer.

Can anyone tell me how to get rid of these fellas. When I was putting in some impatiens in the other day, they flew in and out and only checked me out a couple of times. And I was only about 18 inches away for a few minutes of that time. I think I was lucky while I was pushing it. But my kids and I are passing by within a couple of feet all the time and the colony will probably get bigger and bigger and more possessive, so I need to get them out of there.

Thanks for any help.

My friend had them last year, and we found out during a party!! We bought cheap wasp and hornet spray and I sprayed each hole at dusk. Gone!

Lula, GA(Zone 7b)

Or if you have neighborhood skunks, maybe one will find the nest. We have had skunks dig up nest several times. Of course, there could be a downside to that plan....:) Maybe the CAN of spray is a better idea.

Cleveland,GA/Atlanta, GA(Zone 7b)

3g, There are jacket traps with baits available and we had great success one year with a milk jug, little water and meat (they flew in and drowned). Last year we had tons of jackets in our main veggie/flower garden and they were not aggressive. I've had little time for garden research this year, but think I remember (hitting 60 in a few weeks) that there are several varieties of jackets and some are less aggressive. Check it out before you kill them. Anyway, ours were pretty calm and we just made sure to traipse carefully around them. The upshot was that we had the most bug-free garden ever last summer!

This message was edited Jun 3, 2009 8:24 PM

Dacula, GA(Zone 7b)