Knautia and clustered bellflowers

Shenandoah Valley, VA

Knautia is such a easy, long blooming plant. Not to flashy but it blooms for months and is so pretty.

Thumbnail by hart
Shenandoah Valley, VA

Another favorite is clustered bellflowers. I've been growing these in one house or another for over 30 years and I still love them. The dark purple is stunning and these are just beginning to bloom. Soon that entire section will be covered in purple. Easy too but they do spread. It's easy to pull the extras, though, and I always have somebody who wants some.

Thumbnail by hart
Shenandoah Valley, VA

Closer view. Again, this is just a fraction of what will be blooming in a week or so so they look a little sparse here.

Thumbnail by hart
Shenandoah Valley, VA

Here are the two together, knautia on the left, bellflowers on the right.

Thumbnail by hart
Sacramento, CA(Zone 9a)

Very nice combo, hart. Do you know if either of them makes good cut flowers?

Shenandoah Valley, VA

I'm sure the knautias would make fine cut flowers. They have nice long stems although the flowers are small, maybe 1.5 to 2 inches across. The bellflowers are much shorter and their stems are pretty leafy so you'd have to trim off the leaves.

Mechanicsville, MD

Hart those are beautiful pictures. If only my husband didn't like the lawn sooooooo much, I would have perennials everywhere!! I have always thought knautias were beautiful plants and you have proven me right again. I don't have any in my garden but maybe one day.

Shenandoah Valley, VA

I'll bet they'd be easy from seeds because mine self sow a bit. I actually have some other colors. These were from the Melton Pastels mix that T&M sells but I bought mine as plants from a local grower. The lighter colored ones are really hard to capture in a photo but I'll try to get some shots if it ever stops raining here.

http://www.tmseeds.com/product/6344?SA=1113