Delicate Prickly Pear, Plains Prickly Pear, Starvation Prickly Pear, Tuberous-Ro

Norwood, PA

Delicate Prickly Pear, Plains Prickly Pear, Starvation Prickly Pear, Tuberous-Rooted Prickly Pear
Opuntia macrorhiza

This was last year. This year it may produce more flowers.

Thumbnail by BobBrins
Acton, CA(Zone 8b)

you sure about that? Sure doesn't look like O basilaris to me. Flower color wrong as is pad shape and thickness. O basilaris is usually a very thick, stout pad plant with very short, almost non-existant spines but closely spaced small areoles. And it's rarely that green (usually a dull blue, grey, lavendar or even tan)... I am NO Opuntia expert, but O basilaris is a common one here in California and I just have not seen one look like that.

Norwood, PA

Thats what I was told it was. Maybe they were wrong? Any ideas on what it is?

L.A. (Canoga Park), CA(Zone 10a)

Do you keep it outside all year? If so, it might be Opuntia humifusa. My parents in PA have that.

Norwood, PA

Hi,
Yes I do have it outside all year. My neighbor had it in her front yard all year as well. It just keeps popping out new pads every spring/summer.

I'd say you probably have the O. humifusa then. My dad loves them. They have them along the whole back wall of the house under the overhang since it is dry there.

Norwood, PA

Where mine are the rain waters them all spring. They were under 2 ft of snow this past winter. New pads this spring.

El Cajon, CA

Bob, so you get this photo moved to the right entry, please.

Geoff, there is a yellow flowering so-called O. basilaris v. aurea growing in SW Utah. Very frost hardy with smaller pads than bas. v. bas.

Jordi

Thumbnail by CactusJordi
Norwood, PA

How would I go about moving it?

El Cajon, CA

Report this picture as error and ask the Admin to either delete it or move it to the O. humifusa entry.

Jordi