I'm hooked

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

I am new to the midwest (moved from Florida) and have never grown iris before. I always admired there beauty in "cut flowers". I noticed a giant clump of these georgeous flowers in a neighbors yard last year after moving here. It was one of the first things I bought this growing season. I got 12 little fans from a nice little nursery and so far they seem happy. I got the first bloom to open today. I cant wait to add more next year.

Susan

Thumbnail by susanelliott
Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Here is the whole plant

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

I cant wait to see the whole clump in bloom

Tolleson, AZ(Zone 9a)

Beautiful!!

Fredericksburg, TX(Zone 8a)

How beautiful!!! Do you know the name of the iris? I love that it is such a brilliant purple/blue!!

Dana

Sand Springs, OK(Zone 7a)

wow ! stunning clump

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Thank you. It's called Swingtown. The label had it pictured with a bit more red in the purple. I noticed the outer petal is more red and the throat has a cobalt blue comb. I am very happy.
Susan

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

Here's a picture of the bloom backlit...the color looks warmer in this image. I have my camera on auto white balance and it may have compensated differently. They were planted with a lot of nice compost...I think it helped. I worried that it would be too acidic but I guess not.

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

My son thought I was a nut this morning when I was taking pictures of the first bloom as he got on the bus (11years old). I'm sure I am know as the Crazy Mom by everyone now

Wow - I am adding it to my want list!! ; )

Great job!!

Hehe!! I have two girls - 5 & 7 they try to get in the pic with the flowers!

Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

I have an older son also, he is 14. They both run when I tell them to go stand next to the flowers.

my son and my two granddaughter years ago( abt 1998)
in the iris beds

Thumbnail by tazzy
Olivette, MO(Zone 6a)

tazzy